Transitional Joint

So at the tender age of 23, gainfully employed part-time in the campus dining hall, attending graduate school and unhappily single and thoroughly confused about life, I must say that I am at a crossroads. At a time in life where old classmates are two years into a career and a couple steps from walking down the aisle, I find myself having arguments with myself on the weekends about whether I should go out, stay in, or phone a friend for hours until I eventually drift into a steady slumber. You see they told us to go to college, but as far as the instructions for actual LIFE AFTER A BACHELORS.. well, let’s just say I’m still searching for those instructions..

So what’s a single 23-year-old graduate student, financially dependent on their parental units to do? What happens when you’re past the stage in life where you twerk all night with 19-year-olds, but not quite at the age (nor relationship status) to plan cruises with other married couples? I’m not sure honestly. Should I be patrolling the 21 and up clubs looking for a potential partner, or setting up my profile on POF and Blackpeoplemeet.com?

I know you giggled at that last question, because I certainly did. I am at a point in life that’s not too hot, nor too cold, but who likes lukewarm anything?! The only thing I know that is a requirement at ALL stages of life is seeking after God’s will. You’re never too old or young to enhance your relationship with the father. So I guess all of my worrying is moot when compared to all the great things God has planned for me and my future. So if you’re like me and worried if your student loans will outweigh your yearly earnings, you’re over the age of 30 and not married, or you’re simply just frustrated with the stage of life you’re at right now, take a breath, close your eyes, and send a prayer up to the father. He’s got good plans for you, but you have to be willing to substitute your worrying for listening.

-“For I know the plans I have for you, declares the lord. Plans to prosper and you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future”

Jeremiah 29:11

Leave a Reply

